Consequence Of Driving With A Suspended License

Consequence Of Driving With A Suspended License

Having a driver’s license makes life considerably easier and in some parts of California, the ability to drive is a key component of survival since there’s no form of public transportation. However, there are times when the State of California can decide to suspend your license.

How a Driver’s License Becomes Suspended

It’s a easier to have your drivers license suspended than you might think. Things that can result in to the state revoking your driving privileges include:

  • Unpaid tickets.
  • Driving while under the influence.
  • Being declared physically or mentally incapable of driving.
  • Having too many points on your driving record.

California Vehicle Code 14601 VC not only deals with the various reasons why a license can be suspended, but also the consequences connected to c...

Read more >

What is the difference between an infraction, a misdemeanor, and a felony?

Bail Bonds in Madera

The terms “infraction,” “misdemeanor,” and “felony” have probably flown across your ears every now and then – from video games to television to movies to the morning news. But do you understand the differences between the three? Some people may think they are simply synonyms for each other. But, they are not and it is important for all California residents to understand the differences to these charges:

  • INFRACTION – fines must be paid but the defendant will not be put on probation and they will not face jail time. Infractions do not appear on criminal records.
  • MISDEMEANOR – fines must be paid and the defendant is subject to probation and up to 1 year in county jail.
  • FELONY – fines must be paid and the defendant is subject to probation, up to 1 year in county jail, an...
Read more >

Dealing With Child Abandonment In California

Dealing With Child Abandonment In California

Child neglect has been in the minds of California lawmakers for a long time. From 1987-1995 there was a 27% increase in child abuse/neglect cases. In 1994 alone, the state dealt with 664,000 child abuse/neglect cases, with 90,000 children becoming involved in the state’s foster program. No one was happy about the situation.

In California, child abandonment laws and child neglect laws are tangled up together. Issues that are covered in the state’s child neglect/abuse laws include:

  • Emotional abuse
  • Exploitation of minors
  • General neglect
  • Physical abuse
  • Severe neglect
  • Sexual abuse

The state’s child abuse and child neglect laws were put in place specifically to make it possible for the state to criminalize the actions of any parent they feel isn’t properly caring for their child...

Read more >

Partying During A Pandemic

Partying During A Pandemic

COVID-19 has been running our lives since March. There isn’t a single aspect of life that it hasn’t impacted. Many of us have grown tired of all the restrictions the virus has placed on our lives and are starting to rebel against the shutdown lifestyle. Many of us are starting to look at the upcoming holiday season and wondering, “what would happen if I hosted or attended a party during the pandemic?”

Is Partying During A Pandemic Legal?

If you’re wondering if it’s legal to party during a pandemic, you’re unlikely to get a clear response. Most people, including any police officers you speak to, will likely tell you it’s a bad idea. But just because something is a bad idea, that doesn’t mean it’s illegal, right?

When the pandemic reached California, the governor made the to...

Read more >

Halloween, California & COVID-19

Halloween, California & COVID-19

Halloween is right around the corner. It’s one of those holidays that kids look forward to all year long. It’s not uncommon for kids to spend months working on a Halloween costume and planning their trick-or-treating route.

Safety & Halloween

Every single year, the news is always full of stories about people wondering if traditional trick-or-treating is safe. Concerning issues include the potential to bring poisoned candy into the house, getting hit by a car or getting kidnapped. This year has the added complication of COVID-19.

Is It Safe To Trick-Or-Treat?

The good news is that Halloween hasn’t been officially cancelled in California, but lawmakers and members of the medical community are concerned...

Read more >

Watering Your California Lawn

Watering Your California Lawn

All of us want the lush, gorgeous kind of lawn we see featured in landscaping ads and gardening magazines. Even with minimal landscaping, a beautiful, healthy lawn really showcases the home, giving it a great deal of curb appeal.

The problem many California homeowners encounter is that maintaining that stunning lawn takes a great deal of water. Using too much water on your lawn could create some serious legal headaches.

How Much Water Can You Use?

There are some parts of the world where you can put as much water on your yard as you’d like. That’s not the situation in California. The entire state is always conscious of a potential water shortage. It’s something the state and local lawmakers would like to avoid...

Read more >

California’s Wobbler Laws

California’s Wobbler Laws

One of the interesting terms you’ll often hear bandied around the California judicial offices is wobbler laws. This is a cute name for a very specific and unique set of laws.

What Are Wobbler Laws

Wobbler laws are laws where the prosecution has the option of deciding whether they want to charge the defendant with a misdemeanor or a felony. The misdemeanor charge not only means that the defendant doesn’t have to deal with the severe, life long consequences of having a felony record, but also usually faces a significantly reduced sentence that includes less jail time and smaller court fines.

A perfect example of one of California’s wobbler laws is assault with a weapon...

Read more >

Attending School During The COVID-19 Pandemic

Attending School During The COVID-19 Pandemic

Never before have so many parents been confused about how their child’s education will take place during the upcoming school year. Concern about COVID-19 spreading through the schools has caused a great deal of confusion regarding how education will work during the 2020/2021 school year.

The Governor’s Thoughts About School This Year

One of the things making this school year so difficult is that California’s lawmakers seem to second guess themselves every single day. One day the governor announces that nope, schools won’t open and all schooling will be done virtually. A few weeks later, an elementary school opens its doors and starts welcoming students.

The problem this poses for parents is figuring out how they’ll help their child get the education they need this year...

Read more >

The Legal Ramifications Of Falsely Reporting A Crime In California

The Legal Ramifications Of Falsely Reporting A Crime In California

We’ve all been in a situation where someone has done something that deeply hurts us. When that happens, we can’t stop thinking about how we can get revenge. In most cases, the anger fades and you never take action against the other person.

There are exceptions.

There have been cases of people reporting a false crime in an attempt to get back at something. If this is something you’re considering doing, you should know that the State of California has legal protocols in place that are designed to discourage such malicious behavior.

What Happens When You Falsely Report A Crime In California?

The police want to trust everyone that walks into a police station and reports a crime. If you decide to try to get your friend in trouble for… shoplifting. The police will take you seriously...

Read more >

California’s Regulations Regarding Car Seats

California’s Regulations Regarding Car Seats

All parents know that infants should be contained in a car seat; however, not all parents know what California’s laws are regarding car seats.

Infants And Car Seats

Any child that is two or under must be confined to a rear-facing car seat while they are in a vehicle. Failing to have your child properly secured in a car seat will result in a $500 fine and a point getting added to your driving record. Don’t assume that just because your child has passed their second birthday that it’s time to change their car seat. The law also states that the child needs to be at least 40 inches tall and or weigh at least 40 pounds before they graduate to a different type of car seat.

Car Seats For Children Between Ages 2 And 8

If your child has already celebrated their second birthday and also meets...

Read more >